1. Wright, Mrs. Agnes

    Agnes Wright was Mayoress in 1859.

    Historical Person | By Cheryl Williss, HerStory Project | 1820s, 1830s, 1840s, 1850s, 1860s, 1870s, 1880s

  2. Yarwood, Mrs. Emily

    Mrs Emily Yarwood was Lady Mayoress of the City of Adelaide (married to the Lord Mayor) from 2010-2014.

    Historical Person | By Emily Yarwood, HerStory Project | 2010s

  3. Young, Sarah

    Sarah Jane (Jeanna) Young (née Foster) (1866–1955), inspired by Catherine Helen Spence, became secretary of the Effective Voting League (1897), wrote and lectured on proportional representation and, with Spence, campaigned for eight weeks in Sydney to have the Hare-Spence voting system adopted in Federal elections. She would later run for parliament and receive an OBE.

    Historical Person | By Dirk van Dissel | early twentieth century, late nineteenth century, mid nineteenth century, mid twentieth century

  4. Zadow, Mrs. Augusta

    Appointed in 1895, Augusta Zadow was South Australia’s first female inspector of factories and an ardent advocate for women workers, a leading trade unionist, philanthropist and suffragist. 

    Historical Person | By Pauline Cockrill, History Trust of South Australia

  5. de Lissa, Ms. Lillian

    Hard working, widely read and exceptionally charming, exotically-named intellectual Lillian Daphne de Lissa was a kindergarten pioneer.

    Historical Person | By Dr Helen Jones | North Terrace | 1900-1910, 1910s