History Hub
  • Topics
    • People
    • Places
    • Organisations
    • Things
    • Subjects
    • Events
  • Discover
    • Collections
    • Tours
  • Resources
    • Maps and Plans
    • Bibliographies

Copyright

Home › Copyright

This month in South Australia’s history

Trades Hall is opened
Trades Hall is opened

The foundation stone for Trades Hall was laid on Eight Hours Day, 2 September 1895 and the completed building was officially opened on 4 March 1896. From 1896 the completed Trades Hall housed offices of the UTLC, numerous individual unions, the United Labor Party and workers welfare organisations. In 1964 the South Australian Parliament legislated to enable the sale of the building and in 1972 a new building was opened on South Terrace.

First ‘Silent Cop’
First ‘Silent Cop’

In response to a series of traffic accidents at Black Diamond Corner, a directional aid is installed to remind drivers to ‘Keep Left’ when transiting the intersection

Consecration
Consecration

The Church of Archangels Michael and Gabriel was consecrated by the Archbishop of Australia and New Zealand, Thimotheos Evengelides, on March 1938.

  • About
  • Accessibility
  • Site Feedback
  • Copyright
  • Terms & Conditions
Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Sign up for our Newsletter